Joanne Sigurdson was recognized with the 2021 Chair Excellence Award. For more information on our 2021 Chair Awards, please click here

Joanne Sigurdson


“Finding people’s strengths and assisting them to use their special talents in the growth and development of successful enterprises
is what I enjoy the most.”

Contact Joanne

Learn more


Joanne Sigurdson is recognized as a dynamic professional with over 35 years of business leadership experience. In addition to national and global projects, she has significant hands-on experience in business ventures from retail to manufacturing and distribution.

Joanne was an Executive Director of two large federal and provincial Tourism Development Programs for several years. She also led business workshops and seminars, and lectured at the University of Winnipeg and the Business Development Bank of Canada. She has worked globally in technology transfer projects in Central America and Europe, and led an economic development initiative in Africa, focusing on new enterprise development.

In 1989, Joanne purchased a Canadian based UNIGLOBE Travel franchise. In 2008, she merged her company into the largest UNIGLOBE franchise and served as Managing Partner with 160 employees and revenues of $180 million. Throughout her career, she has also served on numerous boards and community organizations.

As a TEC Chair, Joanne surrounds herself with young, enthusiastic positive thinkers – a mix of talented individuals with a diverse blend of education, experience and knowledge. She leads the group in the persistent pursuit of innovation, growth and personal excellence.

TEC Group Vision

“We are a close culture of energetic and innovative individuals who ensure one another’s success through the sharing of forward-thinking solutions and ideas.”


  • Lives in Winnipeg with her “serial entrepreneur” husband and son
  • B.Comm (Hons) from the Asper School of Business
  • Advisory Board Member for the Alumni Executive, Asper School of Business
  • Founding Member of Economic Development Winnipeg (2000)